Legendary heavy metal pioneers Black Sabbath have announced the Nov. 11 release of the “super deluxe edition” of their seminal classic album, “Paranoid.” The band’s second album, it was released in 1970 and includes enduring songs such as “War Pigs,” “Paranoid,” “Iron Man” and “Fairies Wear Boots.”

The 4-CD set comprises the 2012 remaster of the album, a rare 1974 quad mix of the album folded down to stereo and 1970 concerts from Montreux and Brussels. The set also includes a hardbound book with extensive liner notes, featuring new interviews with all four band members from the classic Sabbath lineup — Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Bill Ward — as well as “rare photos, and memorabilia, a poster, as well as a replica of the tour book sold during the Paranoid tour,” according to a press release from Rhino, which is releasing the collection. It will sell for $39.98.

Writes Judas Priest frontman in the liner notes: “Paranoid is important because it’s the blueprint for metal. It led the world into a new sound and scene.”

The press release continues:

The PARANOID: SUPER DELUXE EDITION along with the band’s extensive world tour signal the “The End” for Black Sabbath as the band prepares to go out on a high note next year with two shows in Birmingham, England, the band’s hometown.

Track Listings:

Disc One: Original Album, 2012 Remaster
1. “War Pigs / Luke’s Wall”
2. “Paranoid”
3. “Planet Caravan”
4. “Iron Man”
5. “Electric Funeral”
6. “Hand Of Doom”
7. “Rat Salad”
8. “Jack The Stripper / Fairies Wear Boots”

Disc Two: 1974 Quad Mix fold-down to stereo

Disc Three: Live In Montreux 1970
Previously unreleased
1. Intro
2. “Paranoid”
3. “N.I.B.”
4. “Behind The Wall Of Sleep”
5. “Iron Man”
6. “War Pigs”
7. “Fairies Wear Boots”
8. “Hand Of Doom”

Disc Four: Live In Brussels 1970
1. “Paranoid”
2. “Hand Of Doom”
3. “Rat Salad”
4. “Iron Man”
5. “Black Sabbath”
6. “N.I.B.”
7. “Behind The Wall Of Sleep”
8. “War Pigs”
9. “Fairies Wear Boots”

Leave a Reply