Bon Iver on Friday night announced its new album, “22, A Million,” from the stage of the Eaux Claires festival in Wisconsin. The long-awaited album, the Justin Vernon project’s first since 2011’s “Bon Iver, Bon Iver,” will be released Sept. 30 on Jagjaguwar Records.

The band performed the new album in its entirety during its Friday night set at Eaux Claires.

According to a press release from Jagjaguawr:

22 stands for Justin Vernon. The number’s recurrence in his life has become a meaningful pattern through encounter and recognition. A mile marker, a jersey number, a bill total. The reflection of ‘2’ is his identity bound up in duality: the relationship he has with himself and the relationship he has with the rest of the world. A Million is the rest of that world: the millions of people who we will never know, the infinite and the endless, everything outside one’s self that makes you who you are. The other side of Justin’s duality is the thing that completes him and what he searches for. 22, A Million is thus part love letter, part final resting place of two decades of searching for self-understanding like a religion. And the inner-resolution of maybe never finding that understanding. When Justin sings, “I’m still standing in the need of prayer” he begs the question of what’s worth worshipping, or rather, what is possible to worship. If music is a sacred form of discovering, knowing and being, then Bon Iver’s albums are totems to that faith.

Extended versions of “22 (OVER S∞∞N)” and “10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄ ⚄” are available now on streaming services and were also sold as a 12-inch LP, “22/10,” at Eaux Claires. Additionally, the 12-inch is available as part of a pre-order bundle and will be sold at select stores upon the release of the full-length album.

You can hear the extended versions of both tracks in the lyric videos below. Scroll down for the full “22, A Million” tracklist and upcoming Bon Iver tour dates.

And here’s a clip of Bruce Hornsby joining Bon Iver for an encore of “Beth/Rest” at Eaux Claires (h/t Jam Base).

A video posted by Ben Rimbey (@minnesotamelody) on

“22, A Million” Tracklist:

1.   22 (OVER S∞∞N)
2.   10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄ ⚄
3.   715 – CR∑∑KS
4.   33 “GOD”
5.   29 #Strafford APTS
6.   666 ʇ
7.   21 M◊◊N WATER
8.   8 (circle)
9.   ____45_____
10.   00000 Million

Bon Iver Tour Dates

08/13/16 Eau Claire, WI Eaux Claires Festival (tix)
10/01/16 Berlin, DE Funkhaus (tix)
10/18/16 Oakland, CA Fox Theater w/ Francis and the Lights
10/19/16 Oakland, CA Fox Theater w/ Francis and the Lights
10/20/16 Oakland, CA Fox Theater w/ Francis and the Lights
10/22/16 Orange County, CA Beach Goth Festival (tix)
10/23/16 Los Angeles, CA Hollywood Bowl w/ Patti Smith (tix)
10/26/16 San Diego, CA Copley Symphony Hall w/ Juliana Barwick (tix)

Leave a Reply